Travel Tips

Visa Issues

Visas to Thailand:
Regulations covering the issuance of Thai visas are found in Immigration Act B.E. 2522 (1979) section 5, 12 (1), 34 (15). Essentially, although every visitor to Thailand requires a valid passport, whether you need a visa to enter Thailand is dependent on the period of time you are expecting to stay in the kingdom and your nationality.

Visitors from a number of countries must obtain their visas before entering Thailand. Other visitors will be issued with a visa on arrival at an international airport, a border crossing, or an immigration checkpoint. A limited number of countries have agreements with Thailand that enable their citizens to enter Thailand without a visa. Visas are issued either by consulates and embassies outside Thailand, or the Immigration Bureau of the Royal Thai Police within Thailand.

30-day visits:
Most visitors are able to stay in Thailand for up to 30 days without the need of a visa. This includes the citizens of the following countries:

  • Australia : Commonwealth of Australia
  • Austria : Republic of Austria
  • Belgium : Kingdom of Belgium
  • Brazil : Federative Republic of Brazil (visit of not exceeding 90 days permitted)
  • Bahrain : State of Bahrain
  • Brunei Darussalam : Negara Brunei Darussalam
  • Canada
  • Denmark : Kingdom of Denmark
  • Finland : Republic of Finland
  • France : French Republic
  • Germany : Federal Republic of Germany
  • Greece : Hellenic Republic
  • Hong Kong : Hong Kong Special Administrative Region
  • Iceland : Republic of Iceland
  • Indonesia : Republic of Indonesia
  • Ireland : Republic of Ireland
  • Israel : State of Israel
  • Italy : Republic of Italy
  • Japan
  • Korea : Republic of Korea (visit of not exceeding 90 days permitted)
  • Kuwait : State of Kuwait
  • Luxembourg : Grand Duchy of Luxembourg
  • Malaysia
  • Monaco : Principality of Monaco
  • Netherlands : Kingdom of the Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Norway : Kingdom of Norway
  • Oman : Sultanate of Oman
  • Peru : Republic of Peru (visit of not exceeding 90 days permitted)
  • Philippines : Republic of the Philippines
  • Portugal : Republic of Portugal
  • Qatar : State of Qatar
  • Singapore : Republic of Singapore
  • Spain : Kingdom of Spain
  • South Africa : Republic of South Africa
  • Sweden : Kingdom of Sweden
  • Switzerland : Swiss Confederation
  • Turkey : Republic of Turkey
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United Kingdom : United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • United States of America
  • Vietnam : Socialist Republic of Vietnam

60-day visits:
If you want to stay longer for a longer period you can obtain a two-month tourist visa from the Thai consulate or embassy in your country. However, if you are in Thailand and wish to extend your stay this can be done by obtaining a one-month extension from an immigration office (cost: 1,900 Baht).

Visits longer than 60 days:
People wishing to stay in Thailand longer than two months require a 'Non-Immigrant Visa’ – this is not a tourist visa and a person must meet certain requirements before being granted one (e.g. having family members in Thailand, etc.). A 'Non-Immigrant Visa’ is issued for three months and can be extended to one year under certain circumstances.

Full details:
For full details contact your country’s Thai Embassy. A detailed description of visa requirements is provided by Thailand’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs. More concise details are provided by the Thai Embassy in Washington DC

Hotel Booking