Travel Tips


Public Holidays

In Thailand most workers do not receive the generous holiday/vacation leave allowances people do in the west, although this is offset by the greater number of public holidays Thais enjoy. Many public holidays are based around festivals. Clearly, Thai people want to make the most of these holidays by taking a break or visiting relatives at home in a different province. They are very often periods of significant increase in domestic tourism and travel. During some of the Thai public holidays, you might find hotels and resorts fully booked and it might not be possible to get transportation to the places you want to visit. Clearly a bit of planning is in order.

The festivals that often take place during public holidays are great times to see aspects of 'real' Thailand and to feel more involved than you usually might. This is especially true of the Songkran festival. They can though be periods of frustration if travel plans do not go right. Reserve hotels and buy tickets at least a few weeks in advance. In addition, avoid the hassles getting back to Bangkok on the last day a holiday by staying a couple of extra days out of town.

List of Thailand’s Public Holidays During 2022

Monday January 3, 2022 New Year’s Day
(Substitution: Saturday January 1)
Wednesday February 16, 2022 Makha Bucha Day
Wednesday April 6, 2022 Chakri Memorial Day
Wednesday-Friday April 13-15, 2022 Songkran Festival Day
Monday May 2, 2022 National Labor Day
(Substitution: Sunday May 1)
Wednesday May 4, 2022 Coronation Day
Monday May 16, 2022 Wisakha Bucha Day
(Substitution: Sunday May 15)
Friday June 3, 2022 H.M. Queen Suthida Bajrasudhabimalalakshana's Birthday
Wednesday July 13, 2022 Asarnha Bucha Day
Thursday July 28, 2022 H.M. King Maha Vajiralongkorn Phra Vajiraklaochaoyuhua’s Birthday
Friday August 12, 2022 H.M. Queen Sirikit The Queen Mother's Birthday and National Mother's day
Thursday October 13, 2022 H.M. King Bhumibol Adulyadej The Great Memorial Day
Monday October 24, 2022 Chulalongkorn Day
(Substitution: Sunday October 23)
Monday December 5, 2022 H.M. King Bhumibol Adulyadej's Birthday, National Day and National Father's Day
Monday December 12, 2022 Constitution Day
(Substitution: Saturday December 10)
Saturday December 31, 2022 New Year’s Eve

 

Hotel Booking