News & Events

PTT Thailand Open 2010

Tennis enthusiasts in Asia can take the opportunity to see their favourite players in action on the courts of Bangkok’s Muang Thong Thani, 25 September to 3 October.

The PTT Thailand Open 2010 will be highlighted by the participation of the reigning French Open, Wimbledon and US Open champions. The tournament will take place at Impact Arena, Muang Thong Thani from 25 September to 3 October.

Now in its eighth year, the PTT Thailand Open is a firm fixture in the Asia Tennis Pro circuit attracting world-class players and underscoring Thailand’s ability to host top sporting events, year-round.

Bangkok’s Impact Arena, at Muang Thong Thani, is part of a vast exhibition complex conveniently located close to an expressway slipway, some 20 km north of downtown Bangkok.  It hosts world-class exhibitions and sports events and the PTT Thailand Open should draw tennis enthusiasts from around Southeast Asia to watch their favourite tennis players in action.  Day tickets for the tournament start an inexpensive Bt 300.

There are two hotels in the exhibition grounds close to the arena and another three located along Viphavadi Rangsit Highway from Laksi junction to Lad Phrao about 10 to 15 km from venue.  The official hotel, InterContinental is located in downtown Bangkok in Ratchprasong district.

In addition to the city’s amazing discounts on five-star accommodation, the arena  is very close to popular shopping malls such as the new up-market Central Cheang Wattana with its fashions and brand-name stores  and Laksi Plaza a  mall crammed with computer and digital gadgets on the scale of downtown Phanthip Plaza.

This year, the PTT Thailand Open promises to be a highly competitive and exciting event having signed on such players as World #1 Rafael Nadal who will battle it out on the courts to win prize money exceeding US$600,000.

Over its eight years the tournament, which is part of the ATP Tour, has welcomed big name players in men’s tennis including Roger Federer, Lleyton Hewitt, Marat Safin, Andy Murray, Novak Djokovic and Andy Roddick.

This year the nine-day tournament will be led by Rafael Nadal, with promises of some very exciting duals from the likes of Juan Martin Del Potro, Fernando Gonzalez and Ernests Gulbis.

See the official website for

More information and

Hotel Booking